Transportation in the sharing economy

Sharing economy refers to collaborative consumption. It is typically organized through platforms that facilitate the exchange of goods or services. Given an increasing pressure to act economically and ecologically efficient, mechanisms that can be used to benefit from idle capacities are on the rise. Both transportation companies and heavy users of transportation services need to learn how to play in a  world  of shared idle capacities. We anticipate talks on various types of collaborations, crowd delivery, car-sharing, car-pooling, ride-sharing, etc. We will welcome contributions that address modeling, methodological or game theoretical aspects. Possible topics (though not limited to) are:

•    Collaborative and cooperative transportation
•    Crowd shipping or sourcing
•    Car, bike or ride sharing
•    Car and bike repositioning
•    Car pooling
•    Intermodal and multimodal transportation
•    Synchromodality and the physical internet
•    Business model developments in the sharing economy
•    Shared mobility services

There will be a special issue of Transportation Science associated with this year’s TSL workshop.

Keynote Speakers

Opening Keynote Address, Monday, 15.07.2019, 16:30:

Martin Bichler, Technical University of Munich - Optimized but Inefficient? Why Logistics Markets need Design

Closing Keynote Address,Thursday, 18.07.2019, 11:30:

Michal Tzur, Tel Aviv University - Integrating Objective-Driven Operational, Design and Strategic Decisions in Transportation Sharing

Scientific Committee

  • Niels Agatz, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Tolga Bektas, University of Liverpool
  • Christian Bierwirth, Martin-Luther Universität Halle-Wittenberg
  • Luce Brotcorne, Inria, Lille
  • Ann Campbell, University of Iowa
  • Haoxun Chen, University of Technology of Troyes
  • Catherine Cleophas, Lancaster University
  • Jean-Francois Cordeau, HEC Montréal
  • Teodor Crainic, Université du Québec à Montréal, CIRRELT
  • Richard Eglese, Lancaster University
  • Jan Fabian Ehmke, University of Magdeburg
  • Alan Erera, Georgia Tech
  • Özlem Ergun, Northeastern University
  • Dominique Feillet, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Etienne
  • Elena Fernandez, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
  • Michel Gendreau, Polytechnique Montréal, CIRRELT
  • Bernard Gendron, Université de Montréal
  • Ricardo Giesen, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile
  • Bruce Golden, University of Maryland
  • Geir Hasle, Sintef
  • Vera Hemmelmayr, Vienna University of Economics
  • Mike Hewitt, Loyola University Chicago
  • Patrick Hirsch, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna
  • Manuel Iori, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
  • Stefan Irnich, University of Mainz
  • Patrick Jaillet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Alf Kimms, University Duisburg Essen
  • Gilbert Laporte, HEC Montréal
  • Fabien Lehuédé, Ecole des Mines de Nantes
  • Markus Leitner, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
  • Dirk Mattfeld, University of Braunschweig
  • Stefan Minner, Technical University Munich
  • Maciek Nowak, Loyola University Chicago
  • Sophie Parragh, Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Olivier Péton, IMT Atlantique
  • Warren Powell, Princeton University
  • Jakob Puchinger, Centrale Supélec
  • Tal Raviv, Tel Aviv University
  • Mikael Rönnqvist, Université Laval, Québec
  • Juan José Salazar González, Universidad de La Laguna
  • Martin Savelsbergh, Georgia Tech
  • Michael Schneider, RWTH Aachen
  • Jörn Schönberger, Technical University Dresden
  • Frédéric Semet, Ecole Centrale de Lille
  • Karen Smilowitz, Northwestern University
  • Kenneth Sörensen, University of Antwerp
  • Barrett Thomas, University of Iowa
  • Fabien Tricoire, Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Michal Tzur, Tel Aviv University
  • Marlin Ulmer, University of Braunschweig
  • Tom van Woensel, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Thibaut Vidal, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro
  • Daniele Vigo, Università di Bologna
  • Stefan Voss, University of Hamburg
  • Stein Wallace, NHH Norwegian School of Economics
  • Hai Yang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology